Dictionary Flower Bouquet Craft

So amongst the craziness happening in our life (moving, holiday, family visits, pregnancy) I found time to make a gift for Chris’ grandma Effken. It took a bit longer than I expected, and I wish I thought of the idea months ago so I could have finished it before the move – but alas, I was not totally efficient with my Christmas list this year.

Anyway, here is the final product from the fruits of my labor.

IMG_9283

Grandma Effken is a former English teacher, and loves words and grammar. She’s a lady who has everything she needs or wants so I figured it would be better to make her something than buy her something useless that will sit in her house. She’s also an extremely thoughtful gift giver, so I think she’ll appreciate it. IMG_9282

I found the vase at a flee market for $1.99 and a huge Webster’s dictionary at a thrift store for $2.50. The pages of the dictionary were a little too thin, but I persevered. I got this idea from my brother’s wedding – which used all paper flowers made by her mom and a family friend. You can see them here – they are way better than mine. Here is the tutorial for the origami flower and here is the tutorial for the roses.

2 thoughts on “Dictionary Flower Bouquet Craft

Leave a Reply

