Bacon and Blue Cheese Pies

For years I thought I hated blue cheese. My whole childhood was spent thinking blue cheese was disgusting. I blame my mom for this. She hates blue cheese. (I should note that she also hates beer, but I was not disillusioned by her opinion on that subject.) My dad and my sister love blue cheese – but I just thought that since my mom didn’t like it it couldn’t be good.

This recipe combines three of my favorite things: apples, blue cheese and bacon. Bacon is the reason I could never be a vegetarian – but I’m sure I’ll go into that in a different post. These bacon and blue cheese pies are so easy, fast and delicious, but they taste like you slaved.

After a series of Better Homes and Gardens recipe fails, this one was a winner. I’ve made it a couple times and love it so much I had to share.

Bacon and Blue Cheese PiesIMG_9501

4 slices bacon
1 8 1/2 ounce package corn muffin mix
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup blue cheese crumbles (I use more – because why not?)
1 large Granny Smith apple, cored and thinly sliced
 Fresh Thyme (optional, but highly recommended)
Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease two baking sheets or line with parchment paper; set aside. In a skillet cook bacon until crisp. Drain; reserve 2 tablespoons drippings. Chop bacon.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl combine muffin mix, flour, chili powder, egg, and milk with a fork. Use your hands to knead dough until it comes together. Divide dough into four portions. Place two portions on each prepared baking sheet and press to 6-inch circles using floured hands.
  3. Top each circle with half of the cheese and a layer of apple slices, leaving a 1-inch border. Fold edges around apple slices, using floured hands if necessary. Brush apples and crust with 1 to 2 tablespoons reserved bacon drippings.
  4. Place baking sheets on separate oven racks. Bake for 10 minutes. Top each pie with remaining blue cheese and the bacon; return to separate racks and bake for 5 to 7 minutes more until edges are golden. If desired, sprinkle with thyme.
One thought on “Bacon and Blue Cheese Pies

Leave a Reply

